Primary health care professionals to be honoured

October 1, 2020

Nurse practitioner of the year and practice nurse of the year are just two categories open to nurses in the 2020/2021 Primary Healthcare Awards/He Tohu Mauri Ora.

Jackie Clapperton
Winner of the nurse practitioner of the year award at the 2019/2020 awards, Jackie Clapperton, who is both an NP and intensive care paramedic in Gisborne.

The awards are sponsored by The Health Media Ltd and the Pharmacy Guild and there are more than 20 award categories. Nurses working in secondary care on integrated projects with primary care could enter the primary and secondary integration award. Other awards open to nurses include excellence in information technology, aged or youth care, patient safety and mental health.


The focus of the 2021 awards is on achieving equity. “COVID-19 has well and truly exposed the equity issues the primary care sector has been grappling with,” The Health Media managing editor Barbara Fountain said. “It’s a call for each of us to move away from the status quo and become agents of change. That’s what the awards are about – honouring people and projects that are helping move primary care forward.”


Nominations for the awards can be made at Enter the 202 New Zealand Primary Healthcare Awards | He Tohu Mauri Ora and have to be in by November 15. Finalists will be announced on April 1 next year, and the winners will be announced at a gala dinner in Auckland on May 15.